Residents of the Gaylord area have more time to file their taxes

With Governor Gretchen Whitmer declares a ‘state of emergency’ for Otsego County on May 20the Michigan Department of Treasury is offering tornado survivors the opportunity to get tax relief.

Individual and business taxpayers who reside in Otsego County may request additional time to file state income tax returns and pay state tax bills, without penalty or interest. Northern Michigan County was severely impacted by an EF-3 tornado, destroying homes and businesses and causing extensive property damage.

“Families and businesses in Otsego County need relief to recover from this tornado,” Whitmer said. “The last thing a tornado survivor should worry about right now is paying a state tax bill. Taxpayers need to focus on collecting and there will be no late penalties or penalties. interest if taxpayers need more time to file and pay because of the tornado. Together, we will meet this challenge.”

Individuals unable to meet filing or payment deadlines due to this emergency should contact the Treasury at 517-636-4486. Businesses are asked to call 517-636-6925.

Additionally, affected taxpayers can write to the Treasury to request emergency tax relief. When drafting, the following should be included in correspondence:

  • Name and account number of individual or business taxpayer.
  • Reason for waiver request.
  • Taxpayer’s address in an emergency area or tax preparer’s address located in the emergency area.

Taxpayers should send completed correspondence to the following address:

Michigan Department of Treasury
Attention: Disaster Tax Relief
Lansing, Michigan 48922

“A natural disaster can be devastating both personally and financially,” State Treasurer Rachael Eubanks said. “By providing tax relief, tornado survivors will have more time to focus on recovery and regain a sense of normalcy in their lives. Taxpayers should contact us to learn more about the process for obtaining this relief.

Some taxpayers may receive a preliminary tax notice before a request for tax relief is officially received by the Treasury. Taxpayers in the emergency area who receive these notices should contact the Treasury by telephone to resolve the issue.

Comments are closed.