Today last day to file May Day | News

BLUEFIELD — Two Mercer County residents have filed nomination papers for their party to run for the First Congressional District seat in the May primary.

Zane Lawhorn of Princeton has filed for the GOP nomination and Lacy Watson of Bluefield is seeking the Democratic nomination.

Today is the last day to file for the primary, so more candidates for all state and local offices can end up on the ballot.

On Friday, Watson is the only Democrat to file, but Lawhorn faces several opponents of the GOP nomination, including incumbent Rep. Carol Miller.

Miller now represents the third district, but due to a statewide population loss reflected in the 2020 census, West Virginia now has only two congressional districts.

Besides Miller and Lawhorn, the field of candidates for the GOP nod includes Scott Fuller of Kenova, James Edwin Houser of Mount Nebo and Kent Stevens of Milton.

In the State Senate District 6 race, incumbent Republican Mark R. Maynard of Wayne is challenged by Wesley Blankenship of Baisden for the GOP nomination.

No Democrat had yet filed for the primary election.

In the 37th Home District, which is the new district that covers the Bluefield area, incumbent Del. Marty Gearheart is the only candidate so far to file for the GOP nomination for that seat.

As of Friday, “Skip” Crane is the only candidate for the Democratic nomination to run for the seat of the 37th district.

Incumbent Congressman Joe Ellington has filed for the Republican nomination to run for the seat in the 38th House District, which covers the Princeton area.

Tina Russell, who ran in 2020 for one of Mercer County’s three seats in the 27th District at the time, is so far the only Democratic nomination contender to run for the 38th District seat. .

The holder Del. Doug Smith is the lone candidate as of Monday for the GOP nomination in the 39th House District, which covers part of Princeton and the Athens area.

No Democrats have yet filed a primary candidacy for that seat.

In the 41st Home District, which includes upper-tier Mercer County (Lerona) as well as most of Summers County and part of Raleigh County, incumbent Del. Raleigh County’s Jordan Maynor is the only one seeking the GOP’s sign for that seat so far and no Democrats have yet filed for the primary.

McDowell County incumbent Ed Evans is the only Democrat to file for the 36th District House seat so far with two Republicans, Tom Acosta and Anita Hall, who have filed the GOP nomination to run for that seat. .

Everyone on the list was on the secretary of state’s list on Friday, and more could be added today.

The new House districts were created after the Legislature passed a bill earlier this year to have single-member districts, rather than consolidating candidates into a single district. The 100 members now have a single district to represent.

The redistricting took place based on the 2020 census.

At the county level on Friday, incumbent Commissioner Bill Archer was the only Republican to file the nomination so far to run for the Commission seat. No Democrat had yet filed.

Mercer County Clerk Verlin Moye has filed for the Republican nomination to retain his position, and no other candidates from either party have filed yet.

Steven Ellison has filed for the Republican nomination for clerk of the Circuit Court and the only one from either listed party.

Fourteen candidates had applied for three positions in the nonpartisan Mercer County School Board race. This race is decided on May 10, not in November.

Those filed on Friday:

• District 1 — Pat Watkins and Bruce Barilla.

• District 2 — Carl Calfee, Jennifer Moore, incumbent Gregory Prudich, incumbent Jacinda Santon Smith, Tara Lively Mitchell and Holly (Buckner) Parish

• District 3 — Susan Sparks Gaither, Bo Webb, Mark D. Godfrey, Davette Hoylman and Angela M. Lambert and Joshua Ellison.

In a complicated scenario, the first three voters win. However, in District 2, only two seats are available, so no more than two candidates could win even if three candidates from District 2 got the most votes. If this happened, the fourth winner would win or the second most votes from another district.

In District 3, only one seat is available, so no more than one candidate can win a seat.

As of Friday, District 3 board member Gene Bailey had not filed for re-election.

Council members Paul Hodges and Jim Bailey were not re-elected this year.

Incumbent nominee Michael Crowder is the only nonpartisan candidate so far for District 3 Magistrate.

Candidates can apply for the primary today until midnight. Staff from the Mercer County Clerk’s Office will be in the office for part of the day, but candidates can make appointments if needed.

— Contact Charles Boothe at

Comments are closed.